Featured Artist of the Week – Amanda Graves

Featured Artist of the Week - Amanda Graves

Bio:

Amanda grew up with music in her blood. Her parents toured throughout the North Texas region when Amanda was a child, in the Easy Feeling band, but they could never convince Amanda to sing in front of a crowd. So Amanda spent most of her days in Edgewood, Texas chasing a golf ball instead of her dreams of pursuing a career as a singer/songwriter. Coming to a crossroad two days after graduating from Texas A&M University in Commerce with a degree in Kinesiology, Amanda dove into the TX/Red Dirt music scene, and never looked back. Having long broken out of her shyness, Amanda began writing her own songs and started learning to play the guitar, with a little direction from her dad.

Take a little bit of traditional country, mix it with a whole lot of rock ‘n roll and top it off with some blues and you’ve got a taste of Amanda Graves. Known for her powerful, make-you-stop-in-your-tracks vocals, in-your-face attitude, and edgy personality; Amanda is definitely not your average female singer. She doesn’t hold anything back when she sings and you can feel it in every song. Her influences range from Merle Haggard, Mike McClure, Reckless Kelly, and Alice in Chains to Gene Watson, Micky and the Motorcars and Stone Temple Pilots.

Amanda’s new CD, Nobody’s Fool, is just a small sampling of her talent. She co-wrote 8 of the 11 tracks with her best friend, Georgia Klioris and her dad, Jimmy Graves. Hoping to carve her name in the TX/Red Dirt music circuit, Amanda is currently teamed up with Cari Smith and Trey McNiel and they are touring throughout Texas.

Interview:

TRD: Who do you consider your influences?

AG: Patty Griffin would have to be at the top of that list. That woman is amazing! I’d also have to say Mike McClure, Merle Haggard, and Alice in Chains. It’s a pretty random group, but I pull a little from all of them! And certainly my dad, Jimmy Graves. He taught me at a young age what “real music” is.

TRD: What was your first Gig?

AG: The first place I ever sang in front of a crowd was a little Opry in Mesquite, TX called Rodeo City Music Hall. But my first official “gig” was at a place in Gun Barrel City, called Sisters Bar and Grill. It was an acoustic set, but man, we felt like such rock-stars!!

TRD: What groups or singers do you listen to now?

AG: Mike McClure is pretty much a permanent fixture in my CD player. I listen to a lot of Patty Griffin, Monte Montgomery, Alice in Chains, Micky and the Motorcars, Reckless Kelly, Jerry Cantrell, Heart, Brandon Rhyder, Travis Linville and any classic country or grunge from the 90’s.

TRD: What is your favorite venue you have performed at? Why?

AG: We just played the Rowdy Float Trip in New Braunfels, and it was pretty awesome! There were so many cool artists there, plus it doesn’t get much better than floating the river with a cooler full of beer.

TRD: If you could perform only 1 more show, anywhere in the world, where
would you want to play? Why?

AG: Red Rocks Amphitheater in Denver, Colorado. That would be the ultimate for me. The acoustics there are beyond explanation, and the atmosphere is unlike any other place I’ve ever been to.

TRD: What is your favorite song you have recorded? Why?

AG: I’d have to say “Long Way Back” off my CD Nobody’s Fool. My dad wrote that song a long time ago when he had his band, Hooker Ridge, and I always loved it. So when I decided to pursue this music thing, I asked if I could record it. He was thrilled about it, so we re-wrote some lines and put it on the album. Plus, he is singing the harmonies on there so it means a lot to me to be able to do that song with him and I think it kicks ass!

TRD: When you’re not performing what do you like to do with your spare time?

AG: I love to play golf, so I try to get on the course as much as possible. Otherwise, I pretty much just stalk other bands! I love being around live music, so if I’m not playing I’m probably at someone else’s show.

 

TRD: If you could perform with any other artist, who would you like to
share the stage with? Why?

AG: Patty Griffin. The woman’s voice is perfection, her songwriting is amazing and she is an awesome guitarist. She shouldn’t even be allowed to be as great as she is! I don’t know if I’d be able to sing with her though, I’d probably just stand there in awe the whole time!

 

Discography:

Nobody’s Fool (1/2/2006)

Tour:

Enjoy! And check back next week when our featured artist is Carissa Amberly

Published in: on June 23, 2007 at 10:12 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://texasdirt.wordpress.com/2007/06/23/featured-artist-of-the-week-amanda-graves/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Wow- what a voice! Nice post as well. You’re right, we don’t necessarily have the same taste in music, but I can definitely appreciate good music when I hear it. No matter the form. 🙂


Leave a Reply

