Featured Artist of the Week – Jackson Taylor Band

This is the first installment of the Featured Artist of the Week. This week I am featuring the Jackson Taylor Band. As the weeks go by these Featured Artist of the Week’s (FAWs) will grow in detail as I learn more places to research them and hopefully will start to include some of my own interviews with the artists.

You can see one of Jackson Taylor Band videos on YouTube the video for Bare Feet on the Dash. I watched it several times. I really like the sound of the band.

Bio:

Jackson grew up in Moody, Texas and with the help of his father was exposed to great music by the likes of Willie Nelson, Billy Joe Shaver and Waylon Jennings.

While he was still young Jackson and his father moved to California to work on fruit ranches as migrant workers eventually settling down in Washington State. After high school Jackson moved back to Texas for a short while then on to Nashville. In Nashville he found a job as a songwriter for Of Music and the song writer Dewayne Blackwell.

Unsatisfied with the way his career seemed to be going, Jackson packed up and moved to New York. There he started preforming in the club scene. After meeting an owner of a California Label, Jackson was in the studio in a months time where he recorded “Humboldt County”. He dedicated this record to his brother who had died the year before in Humboldt County, CA. “Humboldt County” did well and was heard by George Tobin, who produced albums by Tiffany, Natalie Cole & Smokey Robinson among others. Tobin turned out to be like Nashville, who wanted Jackson to play the mainstream radio sound. So Jackson hit the road yet again.

Jackson told his label he wanted to go home to Texas. They were not sure about the move, after all Texas was no LA, Nashville or New York. This is what Jackson was looking for, different. After arriving in Austin he went into the studio and recorded “Gypsies & Drifters.” After getting this album done he had to head back north for a bit to play some shows he had already scheduled. While in New York he recorded his third CD “Hollow Eyed & Wasted.”

Now back in Texas, Jackson has since recorded 5 more CDs including a greatest hits CD in 2005 and a live CD in 2006

 

Interview:

TRD: Who do you consider your influences?

JT: Billy Joe Shaver, Kris Kristofferson, Social Distortion, Waylon & Elvis.

TRD: What was your first Gig?

JT: My first gig in Texas was opening for Ricky Colmbooch at the Texas Hall Of Fame in Collage Station.

TRD: What groups or singers do you listen to now?

JT: Right now we are jamming Social Distortions “Love Sex & Rockin roll” along with allot of Dale Watson.

TRD: What is your favorite venue you have performed at? Why?

JT: Cains Ball room in Tulsa. First time we ever stepped on stage in a town we had never been in and had tons of folks yelling our request for our songs.  I will also have to say Longhorns in Manhattan Kansas cause it’s the first place we ever sold out.

TRD: If you could perform only 1 more show, anywhere in the world, where
would you want to play? Why?

JT: The Bunny Ranch cause even I can get laid in a whore house.

TRD: What is your favorite song you have recorded? Why?

JT: They are all very special to me, I can’t pick one of mine cause they are like my children so I will have to go with a cover song, either Willie’s “It’s Not Supposed To Be That Way ” we have had such a great response to it, “Honky Tonk Heroes” cause Billy Joe said he loved it or “Hwy 101” cause we got a call from Social D’s management and they told us how much the band liked it.  Sorry I can’t break it down anymore than that, we have over 70 tunes.

TRD: When you’re not performing what do you like to do with your spare time?

JT: I like to drink BV Merlot pop a Xan bar and hang on the couch and play with my 8 month old son “Gattlon gunn” and my Pug “Pug”, and just heal up from the road, I love to read and paint when my boy allows me the time and of course anytime I get to spend time with my luvly woman is very welcome, I don’t get to see my family very much so that where I am at when I am not on the road.

TRD: If you could perform with any other artist, who would you like to share the stage with? Why?

JT: there are so many, anytime I get to play with Billy Joe is a huge deal to me and I walk around on clouds for a month afterward. Since I have done allot of shows with him I will have to go with Mike Ness or Kris Kristofferson.  I am very indecisive aren’t I.

Discography:

  • Humboldt County
  • Gypsies & Drifters
  • Hollow Eyed & Wasted
  • Goin’ Down Swingin’ (12/21/2004)
  • Outlaw Volume One 2001-2003 (1/4/2005)
  • Easy Lovin’ Stranger (5/31/2005)
  • Live Locked & Loaded at Longhorn’s Saloon (6/6/2006)
  • The Whiskey Sessions (10/3/2006)

Tour:

Enjoy! And check back next week when our featured artist is the Josh Ward Band

Published in: on June 4, 2007 at 4:09 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://texasdirt.wordpress.com/2007/06/04/featured-artist-of-the-week-jackson-taylor-band/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

