Lyrics: Brandon Jenkins – Finger On The Trigger

Oh Lord please forgive me for what I’m about to do
I’m runnin’ on empty, my options are few
You know that I did the best the best that I can
But I’ve done hit rock bottom my time is at hand

yeah, cause I lost my job my bills are getting bigger
Got a cryin’ baby ‘bout to lose my mind
Hundred dollar habit ain’t got a penny
My woman ran off with a friend of mine
I can’t keep a job I’m too fucked up
DHS about to take my kids
Tryin’ to get well I keep getting sicker
Got me Sittin’ in the parking lot my finger on the trigger

Sittin’ in the parking lot my finger on the trigger

You know that I never meant to hurt anyone
And I’ll face the consequences for all the things I’ve done
And Lord sometimes I wonder if you’re even there
Cause my burden is backbreaking, it’s more than I can bear

Cause I lost my job my bills are getting bigger
Got a cryin’ baby ‘bout to lose my mind
Hundred dollar habit ain’t got a penny
My woman ran off with a friend of mine
I can’t keep a job I’m too fucked up
DHS about to take my kids
Tryin’ to get well I keep getting sicker
Got me Sittin’ in the parking lot my finger on the trigger

Sittin’ in the parking lot my finger on the trigger
Sittin’ in the parking lot my finger on the trigger

Cause I lost my job my bills are getting bigger
Cryin’ baby ‘bout to lose my mind
Hundred dollar habit ain’t got a penny
My woman ran off with a friend of mine
I can’t keep a job I’m too fucked up
DHS about to take my kids
Tryin’ to get well I keep getting sicker
Got me Sittin’ in the parking lot my finger on the trigger

Got me Sittin’ in the parking lot my finger on the trigger
Sittin’ in the parking lot my finger on the trigger
Sittin’ in the parking lot my finger on the trigger

Published in: on September 21, 2008 at 6:16 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Lyrics: Hayes Carll – Little Rock

Wake up in the mornin’
long and lean
Stoppin at the corner
cigarettes and gasoline
Pulling down mainstreet
Shifting through the gears
Rolling up that highway
They’ve been working on for years
One eye on the sunrise
One eye the clock
Come tomorrow mornin’
Lord, I’m gonna make it down to
Little Rock

I search through L.A. county
The valleys and the stars
Del rio to the bayou
All those honkey tonks and bars
I been through seattle
Driving through the rain
Praying through New York City
Just-a calling out your name
To all these years of searchin’
I finally found my spot
One way or another
Lord, I’m gonna make it down to
Little Rock

Hey, all my life I tried to find
A piece of this earth
For my piece of mind
All these years of searchin’
Let my troubles disappear
Baby, find a place where
We can sit and drink a beer

Half a pack in seven hours
Foot up on the shelf
Singin’ to the radio
And talkin to myself
Screamin’ through the forest
Magic on my soul
90 miles an hour
On the cruise control
I’m blowin’ by the truckers
the grandmas and the cops
What your hurry son?
It’s just that I’m on my way to
Little Rock

Well baby get ready
Troubles on its way
Only thinking ’bout you
Every night and every day
Tell all your other lovers
Forget about the past
Ain’t even gonna worry
Cuz this time it’s gonna last
I’m coming around the corner
Ain’t even gonna knock
Hey pretty baby
Here comes your daddy down to
Little Rock

Hey Little Rock
I’m going to Little Rock

I may be the only one
But I’m going

I ain’t sleeping on the couch

Published in: on September 21, 2008 at 5:57 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

Lyrics: Hayes Carll – Down The Road Tonight

Thrift store cowboys, five and dime junkies
Red dirt plowboys, asphalt monkeys
Holy rollers, signal callers
Truck stop angels, backstreet brawlers
Van Zandt groupies, guitar slingers
Hallelujah gospel singers
Freight-train mamas, pistol shooters
My first girlfriend works at Hooters
Beans and biscuits in my cupboard
Listen to Ray Wylie Hubbard
All gone down on the road tonight

Drunken angels, blacktop racers
Holy rollers, whiskey chasers
Lonestar drinkers, midnight ramblers
Dirt road divas, highway gamblers
Moonshine mamas, panty droppers
Dali Llamas, ol’ pill poppers
High-school heroes, back row preachers
Pool hall hustlers, tantric teachers
Teenage cuties politickin’
Harry Krishna feed me chicken
All gone down on the road tonight

Blue jean babies, old heartbreakers
Had a party with some Quakers
Heartworn highways, country singers
Radio’s full old right-wingers
Session players, duct tape dealers
Outlaw country, hubcap stealers
Ain’t no money in my wallet
Broke again is what they call it
My Grandmother’s name was Spiller
Michael Jackson peaked at Thriller
All gone down on the road tonight

Jukebox gypsies, mustang sally’s
Don’t go walkin’ down dark alleys
Needle pushers, horn rimmed glasses
Rhinestone jumpsuit, backstage passes
Blue plate specials, Luanne platters
Japanese is all that matters
Broken arrows, gulf coast kickers
“Who’s your daddy?” bumper stickers
Dah dah dah dah dah dah dahhh
Ha-ah-ah-ah Ah-ah
Ah yeah, aw uh duntdunt

Outro – Spoken:

I’m outta words, people
that’s all I got!
Americana woman
hip shake with me baby!

Published in: on September 21, 2008 at 5:50 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

Lyrics: Brandon Rhyder – This Aint It

Whatever I expected you to say, whatever I expected you to do
Whatever I made up in my head. I thought you would be thinking it too
Whatever I thought you needed, whatever I thought was right
Anything that I could do to make you love me one more night

I rack my brain, I fight my pride
I curse my doubt, turn myself inside out

If there ever was a day for me to give up
After everything I gave just wasn’t enough
If there ever was a day I outta just let you walk away
Yeah but you know me I’m a hard headed man
I’m just getting started doing all I can
Baby if there ever was a day to quit
Baby this ain’t it

Whatever I said wrong I take it back, whatever I can do to make you laugh
If all you have is half a heart, I don’t mind I’ll take the broken part

I won’t give in I won’t give up
I’ll dig down deep and find more love

If there ever was a day for me to give up
After everything I gave just wasn’t enough
If there ever was a day I outta just let you walk away
Yeah but you know me I’m a hard headed man
I’m just getting started doing all I can
Baby if there ever was a day to quit
Baby this ain’t it

This ain’t nothing but a storm to weather
We can’t do nothing but get a whole lot better

If there ever was a day for me to give up
After everything I gave just wasn’t enough
If there ever was a day I outta just let you walk away
Yeah but you know me I’m a hard headed man
I’m just getting started doing all I can
Baby if there ever was a day to quit
Yeah maybe if there ever was a day to quit
Baby this ain’t it

No baby this ain’t it
It ain’t nothing but a storm to weather
This ain’t nothing but a storm to weather baby
Oh baby, baby this ain’t it
I won’t give up, I won’t give in
I’ll dig down deep, we’ll find more love, we’ll find more love

Published in: on September 21, 2008 at 5:38 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

Lyrics: Old Crow Medicine Show – Wagon Wheel

Headed down south to the land of the pines
And I’m thumbin’ my way into North Caroline
Starin’ up the road
And pray to God I see headlights

I made it down the coast in seventeen hours
Pickin’ me a bouquet of dogwood flowers
And I’m a hopin’ for Raleigh
I can see my baby tonight

So rock me mama like a wagon wheel
Rock me mama anyway you feel
Hey mama rock me
Rock me mama like the wind and the rain
Rock me mama like a south-bound train
Hey mama rock me

Runnin’ from the cold up in New England
I was born to be a fiddler in an old-time stringband
My baby plays the guitar
I pick a banjo now

Oh, the North country winters keep a gettin’ me now
Lost my money playin’ poker so I had to up and leave
But I ain’t a turnin’ back
To livin’ that old life no more

So rock me mama like a wagon wheel
Rock me mama anyway you feel
Hey mama rock me
Rock me mama like the wind and the rain
Rock me mama like a south-bound train
Hey mama rock me

Walkin’ to the south out of Roanoke
I caught a trucker out of Philly
Had a nice long toke
But he’s a headed west from the Cumberland Gap
To Johnson City, Tennessee

And I gotta get a move on fit for the sun
I hear my baby callin’ my name
And I know that she’s the only one
And if I die in Raleigh
At least I will die free

So rock me mama like a wagon wheel
Rock me mama anyway you feel
Hey mama rock me
Rock me mama like the wind and the rain
Rock me mama like a south-bound train
Hey mama rock me

Published in: on September 21, 2008 at 5:27 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

Lyrics: Hank III – Crazed Country Rebel

Well, I was rollin’ by myself, went down to Memphis, Tennessee
and I was lookin’ for a guy,  had a mullet and no teeth
and I was trippin’ on some acid a latino gave to me
Hey, I was smokin’ morphine ’til it knocked me off my feet
Then I got some “H” from my old Uncle Pete
now I’m startin’ to feel like I might’ve ODed

On an overdose of drugs, overdose of sin
I’m gonna live it to the fullest like I’m on ten
and I love gettin’ high, I hate bein’ low
and I like to drive my truck down a muddy dirt road
and I’m workin’ real hard, tryin’ to get paid
’cause I’m a crazed country rebel and I’m driftin’ state to state

Somehow I made it up to Texas with a carload full of grass
and I’m seeing all these pigs that wanna bust my ass
and I’m always livin’ hard, always smokin’ weed
now I’m hangin’ out in Texas drinkin’ mushroom tea
and I’m fucked up on the floor and think I know why,
It must’ve been some of that Boone county moonshine

and an overdose of drugs, overdose of sin
I’m gonna live it to the fullest like I’m on ten
and I love gettin’ high, I hate bein’ low
and I like to drive my truck down a muddy dirt road
and I’m workin’ real hard, tryin’ to get paid
’cause I’m a crazed country rebel and I’m driftin’ state to state

I had to get up off the floor, tried to get myself in line
’cause the ceiling’s talkin’ to me, and the pisser’s flushin’ fire
That’s why they call me ‘full throttle’, I like a good time
it all started at a bar with a friend of mine
Well she had to hook me up, she said she’d blow my mind
I’ve been up for four days so cut me out another line

of an overdose of drugs, overdose of sin
I’m gonna live it to the fullest like I’m on ten
I love gettin’ high, I hate bein’ low
and I like to drive my truck down a muddy dirt road
and I’m workin’ real hard, tryin to get paid
’cause I’m a crazed country rebel and I’m driftin’ state to state

Published in: on September 21, 2008 at 4:09 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Lyrics: Hank III – Mississippi Mud

Sittin’ in the bayou country,
just me and my fishin’ line
I raised a lot of hell and I hollered,
sippin’ on that Georgia moonshine
Well, I know how to have a damn good time
And I take my shots
straight out of the jug
and I like to get pure drunk
in that Mississippi mud
Well lets throw us a little party baby,
I’ll call a few friends of mine
We’ll dance all night till the sun comes up
and we’ll drink our selves completely blind
Then we’ll rock on down the line
And I take my shots
straight out of the jug
and I like to do a little dance
in that Mississippi mud
Well, I was raised by an awful alligator
he taught me how to walk the line
He used to deal cards from the bottom of the deck,
but a Tennessee woman took his life
But he sure gave me some real good advice
And I take my shots
straight out of the jug
and I like to get pure drunk
in that Mississippi mud
Hey I take my shots
straight out of the jug
and I like to do a little dance
in that Mississippi mud

Published in: on September 21, 2008 at 4:00 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Lyrics: Jason Boland – OD’d in Denver

(Terrific song by Hank Williams, Jr. covered live by several Texas / Red Dirt acts including Jason Boland)
This version of the Lyrics are as preformed by Jason Boland live

We started a tour out in Denver, Colorado
And I made the first one but I did not make the second show
Cause I met a girl there that brought about quite a big change
Then I OD’d in Denver and I just can’t remember her name

I guess you could say that my love life was not up to par
Too many nights alone had left some permanent scars
She treated me nice and I’d like to find her again
But I OD’d in Denver and I just can’t remember her name

Well I brought it on myself and I guess that I shouldn’t complain
I be damned if I’ll every do anymore of that cocaine
She took me higher than all of those expensive things
But I OD’d in Denver and just can’t remember her name

I turned to other things tryin’ to make my daydreams real
But you can’t replace a woman’s face or her feel
She swore she’d love me and I swore that I’d do the same
Then I OD’d in Denver and I just can’t remember her name

Well I brought it on myself and I guess that I shouldn’t complain
Doc said son you can’t do anymore of that cocaine
She took me higher than all of those expensive things
But I OD’d in Denver and I just can’t remember her name

Kinda overdid it in Denver and I just can’t remember her name

Published in: on September 21, 2008 at 3:48 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lyrics: Hank III – Cocaine Blues

(A Johnny Cash song covered by Hank III)

Early one mornin’ while makin’ the rounds
I took a shot of cocaine and I shot my woman down
I went right home and I went to bed I stuck that lovin’ 44 beneath my head

Got up next mornin’ and I grabbed that gun took a shot of cocaine and away I run
Made a good run but I run too slow they overtook me down in Juarez Mexico

Late in the hot joints takin’ the pills in walked the sheriff from Jericho Hill
He said Willy Lee your name is not Jack Brown
You’re the dirty hack that shot your woman down
Said yes oh yes my name is Willy Lee if you’ve got the warrant just a-read it to me
Shot her down because she made me slow
I thought I was her daddy but she had five more

When I was arrested I was dressed in black
They put me on a train and they took me back
Had no friend for to go my bail they slapped my dried up carcass in that country jail

Early next mornin’ bout a half past nine I spied the sheriff coming down the line
Talked and he coughed as he cleared his throat
He said come on you dirty heck into that district court
Into the courtroom my trial began where I was handled by twelve honest men
Just before the jury started out I saw the little judge commence to look about

In about five minutes in walked the man holding the verdict in his right hand
The verdict read in the first degree I hollered Lordy Lordy have a mercy on me

The judge he smiled as he picked up his pin 99 years in the Folsom pen
99 years underneath that ground I can’t forget the day I shot that bad bitch down
Come on you’ve gotta listen unto me lay off that whiskey and let that cocaine be

Published in: on September 21, 2008 at 3:28 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lyrics: Fred Eaglesmith – Freight Train

Ryan T. Briggs covered this song on his CD “Let It Roll”

Well I just came down from Chippewa
I had a station wagon and a hundred dollars
I was thinkin’ about the girl I’d lost a year before
I hadn’t seen her for some time
I thought that I might go on by
When your memory came floodin’ in
And you closed that door

CHORUS

Wish I was a freight train baby
Wish I was a diesel locomotive
I’d come whistlin’ down your track
Crashin’ in your door
Wish I was a freight train baby
Wish I didn’t have a heart
And you’d need a shovel for the coal
Just to get me started
Wish I was a freight train baby
Wish I was a freight train

Well every time I talk to you
And I hear your jealous lies
I feel like I’ve been left abandoned
On some old railway side
And every time I hear your voice
My water just gets cold
My stoker will not stoke
And my boiler will not boil

CHORUS

Well every time I fell behind
And I could not get ahead
I wish someone would pull the lever
And give me a little sand
And every time I slip behind
Even further back
I wish some switchman would come out of the fog
And change my track

Wish I was a freight train baby
Wish I was a diesel locomotive
I’d come whistlin’ down your track
Crashin’ in your door
Wish I was a freight train baby
Wish I didn’t have a heart
And you’d need a shovel for the coal
Just to get me started
Wish I was a freight train baby
Wish I was a freight train . . .

Published in: on September 21, 2008 at 3:11 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.